It's safe to say that the Kola Peninsula is rich of located there marvelous towns, one of which is Kirovsk. Here this town is unofficially treated as the center of Apatity industry. Being one of the towns of the Murmansk region, it is located in 205 kilometers from its small capital. Those, who have long wanted to go there, should find yourself in the northern part of the Kola Peninsula, where the Khibiny massif is located. There you can find Kirovsk, that located in the south part of the shore of charming lake Big Vudjavr next to the affluent White river in the valley Umptek.
The history of begins upon the 20-ies of XX century. This time the researches of the Alexander Fersman expedition contributed to the discovering of huge deposits of Apatity-nepheline ore. Some years later the Soviet government in 13.11.1929 formed currently known complex «Apatity». We can say that the town was growing the same rapidly, as the mine was building.
1929 year marked by the beginning of the Kirovsk formation, known then as Khibinogorsk. The father of Khibinogorsk, its chief architect was Konstantin Isaevich Rosenstein. Beginning in 1929, the construction of Khibinogorsk was finally completed in 1931, when it acquired the official status of the town.
15.12.1934 by the decision of the CEC of the USSR Khibinogorsk was renamed into currently known Kirovsk. It got this name due to the major politician of those times Sergey Mironovich Kirov. Since then and till 1954 year Kirovsk was the center of the Kirov region.
The formation of the currently well-developed industrial activities of the region was coming gradually. In 1929, to be precise on the 20 of August, there was created a foundation of the first mining hole at mount Kukisvumchorr. Under a couple of years the first Apatity-nepheline factory, named ANOF-I Apatity-Nepheline Concentrating Mill got down to work there. The successful factory work became the impulse for the finding there in 20 years later new mine called «Yuksporsky». In 1954 locals began an active development of the deposit by built there «Rasvumchorr» ore.
In 1963 there appeared «sister» of ANOF-I - factory called ANOF-II that was located in 16 kilometers from Kirovsk. This is the history of the local industry formation. However, it is not the only thing that distinguish this wonderful place from the others.
In 26.08.1931 there was founded the Polar-Alpine Botanical garden-Institute. It is unique in its kind, being the northernmost of all botanical gardens of Russia. Quite recently in August 2011 it celebrated its 80th anniversary. This unique place gets in top of three botanical world gardens that are located beyond the bounds of Arctic Circle. The garden was organized thanks to suc figure as the Nikolay Aleksandrovich Avrorin. Nowadays the botanical garden is one of the important objects of scientific and educational activities of Murmansk and Murmansk region. It is the center of all students, visitors and professionals from all world who are interested in unique species found in the depths of this «Kingdom.» Every year it is visited by no less than 2,500 people. Our country is actively cooperates with foreign representatives by plant seed swapping with more than thirty countries.
The town's history is inextricably connected with the history of its streets. So, one of the oldest Kirovsk’s streets, appeared in 1931, was named in honor to the first name of the town (that existed on the map during 3 years) - Khibinogorskay.
At that time the streets were strewn with one-storey barracks. However, here and there you could already find two-storey barracks. In some places there were apartment buildings. They were predominantly located in Udarnaya street and Nagorny lane. There were only 4 stone houses, two of which were school №6 and school № 3 and the others were the preprimary school and the kindergarten.
Some streets were later renamed. So, September 1967 marked by the renaming of Green Street into 50 years of October Street in connection with the Great October Socialist Revolution anniversary. However, such streets as Komsomolskaya, Khibinogorskay, Kirov Street and Apatity roadway saved its name to this day.
The only town avenue is Lenin Avenue. It appeared in Kirovsk in July 1977. Earlier in 1972 on the town map appeared Leningradskaya Street. No wonder that after the summer Olympic games 1980 in Kirovsk appeared such streets as Solnechnaya and Olimpiskaya. Special honor was awarded to the honorable citizen of the town and honored physician of the RSFSR - Ivan Ignatyevich Shileiko, because one of the Kirov streets bears his name.
Municipal government didn’t give the cultural constituent of urban life a wide berth. In 9.04.1945 they founded cultural and educational work department, that some years later turned into the Culture Department of Kirov executive Committee. Earlier, on 8 January 1932 in the then known as Khibinogorsk, in Kirovsk appeared the first theatre of working youth. To the present time you can admire the Palace of Culture «Miner», that once was famous throughout the neighborhood. Nowadays actively functioning opened in December 1957 the Palace of Culture «Apatity».
Since the formation to the present day Kirovsk is one of the popular Russian downhill skiing centers. Already in 26 December 1934 there was filed the first application for participation in all-union competition by khibinogorskie athletes who were eager to show their worth. After 4 days in the town was the first sports parade, that coincided with the celebration of the fifth town anniversary. March of 1936 marked by the first school sports and athletics meeting. In 1949 on the current complex «Apatity» was opened the first skiing school. Today Khibiny skiing is so developed that every year in Kirovsk municipal government organize the climbing competition and Eskimo games for young people of school age, that include competitions in mountain tourism.
Extreme racing and cycling become popular there with every year. In Kirovsk there is a wonderful health center called «Dolphin». There is a gym, a solarium and even a sauna with swimming pool and mini water park.
Today Kirovsk is the personification of industrialization, the true town of miners, students and scientists. Its municipality includes the town itself, the neighborhood unit Kukisvumchorr and three villages: Koashva, Oktyabrsky and Titan that are related to the Murmansk region. It is a unique, original town located inside of the rock massif. Each year different researches find there new minerals. Only recently there were discovered about a hundred of new species.
Kirovsk is the center of the Russian Apatity industry. The main pride of this town is the enterprise JSC «Apatit», that included in the hundred of the largest companies of the country.
The media in this town have such level of development that they even have their own TV.
This town can rightly be called the town of fountains. It is famous for them in the whole district. In particular tourists attention attracts the floating fountain, located at the administration building of the enterprise JSC «Apatit».
Many filmmakers were shooting there their famous films. Among them you can find such films as «Morozko», «Evenings on a farm near Dikanka», «Precepts of Ilyich», «Seven brave», «Avalanche» and being on everyone's lips modern film «The Mystery of Dyatlov pass».
Kirovsk is proud of its inhabitant that in 2006 year was lucky enough to represent Russia in the international beauty contest held in those years in Northern Ireland.
Local infrastructure is very developed. Link with civilization help to support a number of roads, railway station called «Apatity» and its own airport «Khibiny».