English language Suomen kieli Russian language

The Khibiny - Glacial Hellas

Endless land of the Khibiny-Lovozero tundra is located in the northern part of the Eastern-European platform where the mountain relief is not high but incredibly fairy land of the Khibiny strikes the eye. It is situated 150 km to the north behind the Polar Circle and occupies the central part of Murmansk region.

The Khibiny - Glacial Hellas

Nature of the Khibiny massif is characteristic by its picturesque scenery. Here one can find exceptionally beautiful rock massifs, tundra zone in the mountains where dwarf birches grow. Waters are full of pure lakes, rapid rivers and roaring waterfalls. The Khibiny, being located in the center of the peninsula are considered the highest mountains of Murmansk region.

The highest mountain of the Khibiny - Yudychvumchor, reaches 1200 meters. Tundra vegetation in Khibiny is peculiar by its diversity, more than 300 species of different plants can be found here. Many representatives of flora and fauna are rare, listed in the Red Book. Information in our website can help you to know more fascinating and interesting about northern nature and its features.

The Khibiny mountains are the mysterious and unusual ones. Unlike other mountain chains that usually spread along the horizon, they beautifully frames the lake. Such beauty has been praised by the writers and poets. Its unique nature and particularity in comparison to other mountains has been pointed out by Ivan Korotaev in its «Glacial Hellas». These mountains are the relicts of the ancient plateau that had been destroyed and fractured to many ridges, gorges, isolated peaks, passes and many plateau. The nature itself help to this as well by the rivers Kunijok, Tul'jooka, Malaya Belaya, Vud'javr lakes - Bolshoi and Maly and valleys. This contributes to the formation of arctic mini-Altai. Particularity of the Khibiny is defined due to rare combination of mountains with swampy massif and lakes of the Kola peninsula that creates an unusual and fascinating picture.

Current name of the mountains is connected with the dialect of the local population. «Hiben» means high plateau. But these were not the names of the mountains ever. Saami people traditionally call them «Umptek».

The highest mountain in Khibiny - Yudychvumchor

The Khibiny are old mountains as their age is relatively old, 350 million years. At first sight the mountains seem to be lofty and severe, as they are hard rocky and has no vegetation. The mountains are located behind the Polar Circle, to the north of 67 parallel.

This rock massif in the Kola peninsula is the most elevated. At average, mountain peaks are located 800-900 meters above the sea level. The highest peak, mount Yudychvumchorr reaches 1200 meters. Besides, being the youngest mountains, the Khibiny are constantly growing by several millimeters per year. During summer in a fine weather the Khibiny feasts eyes from far away.

The Khibiny mountains are hard and often unkind ones. The Saami come here only in summer, in winter they fear avalanches, which origin they connected with Gods' favors. In the Khibiny have been discovered deposits of more than 800 types of minerals. As a result, low populated area has been filled with industrial towns and settlements near the bottom of the mountains.

The names of these industrial towns speaks for itself: Titan, Apatity and others. The scientists often called Khibiny the museum of mineralogy in the open air thanks to great amount of natural resources. Famous mineralogist and geologist Alexander Fersman made a great contribution to exploration of the mining system, it was him who discovered the minerals unlike the others ones and called them «chibinites».

How good-looking the Khibiny from the space! They remind stone flower, in close-up it is like a unassailable fortress in the deep forest. Based on local legends, it is in the Khibiny where the sacramental Eden, or Paradise, is located that many strive to get. Severe area constantly attracts new guests and charms by its beauty.

Tourism in the Khibiny

In summer and winter in the Khibiny sport fans and adventure travelers can find a lot of entertainment activities. During summer one can try to become naturalist and take a tour with jeep or 4-wheeler to enjoy the most beatuful sites of the peninsula. What about the Polar day with it ever-lasting-sun, being one more pleasure for walking tourists. But before planning a vacation in our area, do not forget to look in our reminder to tourists that at the initial stage will help you prepare for such an exciting campaign.

Those who like go hiking will be amazed by fascinating tours routes in the Khibiny, having a night in camping, campfire cooking and enjoying the continual communication with dazzling northern nature. The lakes of the Khibiny are rich in whitefish, perch, grayling, pike and salmon trout. Leisure and fishing in the Khibiny will become a great pastime. Rafting and rock climbing are recommended to extreme enthusiasts.

In winter the Khibiny are popular among snowboarders, downhill skiers, scooter fans and «inflatable» sledges that fits perfectly to family vacation. Tourists often choose ski tours about the Khibiny.

Skiing season is from November to April, the winter season is long one and once arrived one can feel transfer from the hot summer to snowy winter. The sun in the mountains is so bright and warm during winter that one can sunbathe; coming back from the downhill ski resort of the Khibiny you will get a sun-tan the same as coming back from the southern resorts.

The location if the Khibiny massif can be found in interactive map or fro full-scale view you can follow the link the Khibiny on the maps of Google Web search system

Индекс цитирования     Яндекс.Метрика
КНОПКА

English language Suomen kieli Russian language

Хибины - Ледяная Эллада

В северной части Восточно-европейской платформы раскинулся необъятный край Хибино-Ловозерских тундр, на этом фоне сразу бросается в глаза горный рельеф небольшой, но сказочно красивой страны - Хибины. Расположенный севернее полярного круга на сто пятьдесят километров и занимает центральную часть Мурманской области.

Хибины - ледяная Эллада

Природа Хибинского массива славится своими живописными видами. Здесь вы встретите необычайные по красоте горные массивы, зону тундр в горах, где растут небольшие карликовые березки. Водная стихия сполна представлена чистыми озерами, быстрыми реками и ревущими водопадами. Хибины, расположившиеся в самом центре полуострова, считаются самыми высокими горами в Мурманской области.

Самая высокая гора Хибин Юдычвумчорр достигает 1200 метров. Растительность тундр в Хибинах отличается разнообразием, здесь произрастают более чем 300 видов различных растений. Многие представители флоры и фауны редки, их занесли в Красную книгу области. Информация на нашем сайте поможет вам узнать больше интересного и увлекательного о северной природе и ее особенностях.

Хибины - горы более чем загадочные и необычные. В отличие от других горных цепей, протянувшихся длинной линией вдоль горизонта, эти красиво обрамляют озеро. Красоты Хибин воспевали писатели и поэты. Их уникальность и непохожесть на другие горы отмечал и Иван Катаев в своей «Ледяной Элладе». Это остатки от древнего плато, которое было уничтожено и раздроблено на многие десятки хребтов, ущельев, отдельно стоящих вершин, перевалов и множества плато. Над этим постаралась сама природа, в лице рек Кунийок, Тульйоока, Малой Белой, озер Вудьявр - Большое и Малое и долин. Это способствовало созданию заполярного мини - Алтая. Не схожесть Хибин с другими горными массивами обусловлено редким сочетанием гор с болотными массивами и озерами Кольского полуострова, что выглядит достаточно необычно и завораживающе красиво.

Современное название гор связано с говором местного населения. «Хибен» означает плоскогорье. Но такое название горы носили не всегда. Саамы традиционно называют их «Умптэк». Хибины уникальны еще и тем, что, во-первых, это - древнейшие горы России, возраст которых оценивается - в 350 миллионов. С первого взгляда горы кажутся неприступными и суровыми, ведь горы скалисты и на них нет растительности. Находятся они за Полярным кругом, севернее 67 параллели.

Самая высокая гора в Хибинах - Юдычвумчорр

На Кольском полуострове этот горный массив - самый возвышенный. В среднем вершины гор поднимаются над уровнем моря на 800-900 метров. А самая высокая точка, гора Юдычвумчорр, достигает 1200 метров. Кроме того, являясь молодыми горами, Хибины постоянно растут и прибавляют по несколько миллиметров каждый год. Летом в ясную погоду видами Хибин можно любоваться издалека.

Хибины - горы суровые и зачастую недружелюбные. Саамы приходили сюда только летом, а зимой опасались горных лавин, происхождение которых связывали с поведением богов. В Хибинах обнаружены залежи более чем 800 видов минералов. Этот факт повлиял на то, что малонаселенный ранее регион заполнился промышленными городами и поселками у подножья гор.

Названия таких промышленных городов говорят сами за себя: Титан, Апатиты и другие. Ученые нередко называют Хибины музеем минералогии под открытым небом благодаря разнообразию полезных ископаемых. Известный минералог и геолог Александр Ферсман внес большой вклад в освоении этой горной системы, здесь он и обнаружил минералы, непохожие на никакие другие и назвал их хибинитами.

Интересен вид гор из космоса. Они напоминают каменный цветок, а если приблизиться - неприступную крепость среди лесного массива. По легендам местных жителей, именно в Хибинах находится заветный Эдем, или Рай, достигнуть которого стремятся многие. Суровые места постоянно притягивают к себе новых и новых гостей своей природной красотой.

Туризм в Хибинах

В Хибинах зимой и летом любители спорта и активного отдыха могут найти по душе множество увлекательных занятий. Летом можно почувствовать себя естествоиспытателем и отправиться в тур на джипе или квадроцикле по красивейшим местам полуострова. А полярный день, с его не заходящим солнцем, это ещё одно удовольствие для пеших маршрутов. Но прежде чем планировать отдых в наших краях, не забудьте заглянуть в нашу памятку для туристов, которая на начальном этапе поможет вам подготовится к столь увлекательному походу.

Любителей пешего отдыха ждут красивые и увлекательные туристические маршруты по Хибинам, в которых вы ночуете в палатах, готовите еду на костре и находитесь в постоянном общении с удивительной северной природой. Озёра Хибин богаты сигом, окунем, хариусом, щукой, кумжой. Отдых в сочетании с рыбалкой в Хибинах станет отличным времяпровождением. Сплав по рекам и альпинизм рекомендованы любителям экстремального отдыха.

Зимой Хибины популярны у поклонников сноуборда, горных лыж, снегоходов и «ватрушек», катание на которых отлично подходит для семейного отдыха. Туристы часто выбирают и лыжные туры по Хибинам.

Кататься на лыжах здесь можно с ноября по апрель, зимний сезон долгий, и приехав сюда, можно перевестись из жаркого лета в снежную зиму. Солнце на вершинах гор даже зимой яркое и тёплое, достаточно для того что бы загорать, а потому вернувшись с горнолыжного курорта Хибин вы будите иметь загар не хуже южного.

Расположение Хибинского горного массива можно посмотреть на интерактивной карте или для полномасштабного просмотра перейти по ссылке Хибины на Яндекс картах

Индекс цитирования     Яндекс.Метрика
КНОПКА